Anat Shahar named 2015 F.W. Clarke Medalist

Anat Shahar has been selected as the recipient of the Geochemical Society's 2015 F.W. Clarke Award.

Anat Shahar, Science Staff at the Geophysical Laboratory at the Carnegie Institution of Washington has been selected as the recipient of the 2015 F.W. Clarke Award from the Geochemical Society.

"Anat has been a leader in the development of  the burgeoning field of isotope mineral physics, a field that she helped invent. Her example is being followed by laboratories around the globe." said DCO colleague Ed Young (University of California Los Angeles, USA). "She is a gifted experimentalist with the ability to execute difficult experiments deftly. Add to this her keen eye for identifying important problems and one arrives at the formua for her success."

The Clarke Award recognizes an early-career scientist for a single outstanding contribution to geochemistry or cosmochemistry published either as a single paper or a series of papers on a single topic. Dr. Shahar is recognized for her significant experimental advances; her incredibly challenging yet elegant high P-T experiments; and her innovative ability to measure silicon isotopes in situ constraining the melting history of each object within. This award will be presented at the Goldschmidt2015 conference in Prague, Czech Republic this August.


Source: Geochemical Society

Further Reading

DCO Highlights CALL FOR NOMINATIONS: 2018 DCO Emerging Leader Awards

The Deep Carbon Observatory invites all members of the DCO community to submit nominations for the…

DCO Highlights Fourth International Diamond School Convenes in Bressanone, Italy

The INDIMEDEA (Inclusions in diamonds: messengers from the deep Earth) research team, led by…

DCO Highlights VIDEO: Biology Meets Subduction

Members of the four DCO Science Communities conducted a scientific investigation at Costa Rican…

DCO Highlights 2017 DCO Emerging Leader Award Recipients Selected

The Deep Carbon Observatory has selected three early career scientists to receive the 2017 DCO…

Back to top