scientific drilling

Showing 21-30 of 34 results
How Hot is Too Hot for Earth-Style Life? 8 September 2016 Feature

Embargoed until 08:30 EDT, 12:30 GMT, 13:30 UK Summer Time, Thursday 8 September 2016 Mission…

T-Limit of the Deep Biosphere off Muroto: IODP Expedition 370 31 May 2016 Feature

To better constrain the temperature limit of life in the deep biosphere, the International Ocean…

Expedition to the Atlantis Massif Recovers Mantle Rocks with Signs of Life 1 February 2016 Feature

Led by Co-Chief Scientists Gretchen Früh-Green (ETH Zurich, Switzerland) and Beth Orcutt (Bigelow…

Oman Drilling Project Update and Opportunities 19 November 2015 Feature

The Samail ophiolite in Oman and the United Arab Emirates (UAE) is the world’s largest, best-…

Carbon and Life in Deep Seafloor Rocks: International Atlantis Massif Expedition 22 October 2015 Feature

An international team of scientists will sail from Southampton, UK, on board the British Royal…

Exploring the Limits of Life in the Deep Biosphere 23 July 2015 Feature

An international team of scientists led by Fumio Inagaki, Japan Agency for Marine-Earth Science and…

No Limit to Life in Sediment of Ocean's Deadest Region 16 March 2015 Feature

An international team of scientists led by a Deep Carbon Observatory oceanographer has found oxygen…

Meeting Report: DCO Executive Committee Meeting and Field Trips, Oman, January 2015 11 March 2015 Feature

The Deep Carbon Observatory Executive Committee (EC) met in Muscat, Oman, 30-31 January 2015.…

Opportunity for Deep Life Researchers in Sweden 25 September 2013 Feature

The COSC (Collisional Orogeny in the Scandinavian Caledonides) drilling project is currently…

Presence of Life in Oceanic Crust Confirmed 4 April 2013 Feature

Microbes can live pretty much anywhere. Bacteria, archaea, and primitive eukaryotes have been…

Back to top