DCO Press Release

Showing 1-10 of 15 results
test 23 September 2019 Feature

test

Big Data Points Humanity to New Minerals, New Deposits 1 August 2017 Feature

//--> /*-->*/ Predicted before they were found: New-to-science carbon-…

First-Ever Catalog of 208 Human-Caused Minerals Bolsters Argument to Declare ‘Anthropocene Epoch’ 1 March 2017 Feature

Officially recognized minerals, formed by nature: more than 5,000Formed due to human activity: 208…

Scientists Closer to Forecasting Volcanic Eruptions
Exhaling Earth: Scientists Closer to Forecasting Volcanic Eruptions 6 October 2016 Feature

Sniffing volcano breath may improve forecasts of eruptions New tools measure volcanic carbon…

How Hot is Too Hot for Earth-Style Life? 8 September 2016 Feature

Embargoed until 08:30 EDT, 12:30 GMT, 13:30 UK Summer Time, Thursday 8 September 2016 Mission…

Carbon Mineral Challenge infographic
Announcing the Carbon Mineral Challenge: A Worldwide Hunt for New Carbon Minerals 16 December 2015 Feature

New research predicts at least 145 of Earth’s carbon-bearing minerals remain undiscovered. How many…

Cover of DCO Midertm Scientific Report
PRESS RELEASE: 15 DECEMBER 2014 10 December 2014 Feature

THE DEEP CARBON OBSERVATORY:  INVESTIGATING QUANTITIES, MOVEMENTS, FORMS  AND ORIGINS OF CARBON…

Aerial view of lake Dziani Dzaha with boat
DCO Media Advisory September 2014: Field Studies 22 September 2014 Feature

The Deep Carbon Observatory – 10 years of exploration and discovery at more than 150 field sites…

Bárðarbunga. Photo via Global Volcanism Program
Bárðarbunga Volcano Fact Sheet 26 August 2014 Feature

Posted at 11:50AM (EST)       PDF Version Bárðarbunga Volcano Fact Sheet…

Partial serpentinization of olivine
DCO News Release December 2013 30 November 2013 Feature

Water + rock + aluminum oxide + extreme pressure, heat = quick, copious H2; could one day power…

Back to top